Thursday, August 4, 2022
HomeUncategorized95 former Cabinet members, AFP officials, ambassadors endorsed Robredo's candidacy

95 former Cabinet members, AFP officials, ambassadors endorsed Robredo’s candidacy


Ninety-five former Cabinet members will back Vice President Leni Robredo’s presidential bid, including former Interior and Local Government Secretary Manuel ‘Mar’ Roxas II, senior government officials, former chiefs of staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines, retired ambassadors, and career civil servants who served under various administrations.

Many of the former government officials who spoke out in support of the presidential candidate previously served under President Benigno S. Aquino III.

Former government officials pledged their support for Robredo’s candidacy in a 5-page joint statement dated Feb. 1, saying she is the “best candidate” for the highest office in the land, with a “solid track record of serving the public” and “all the qualities of an ideal chief executive and commander in chief of our Armed Forces.”

“We commit ourselves fully to Vice President Leni Robredo’s bid for the presidency to lead the Philippines on an upward path of recovery and greatness,” they said as they stressed that in the May 2022 elections, Filipinos will make a choice that will shape the country’s future and that of future generations.

“We thus enjoin the Filipino people to give our country the leader that we all deserve,” they added.

Former government officials stated their support for a government led by a competent, experienced leader who is committed to the principles of integrity, democracy, and real public service.

They also stated that they aim a leadership that is inclusive and consultative, one that protects the safety and well-being of all citizens while upholding human rights, and one that is devoted to safeguarding national sovereignty.

“A leadership that takes charge in a crisis – one that is capable, decisive and able to lead by example; a leadership that is committed to serving the people with empathy and compassion – one that listens, one that is able to be with the poor, the voiceless, and the weary,” the former public officials said.

“A leadership that is committed to what is right and true, and one that runs an honest and responsive government that inspires confidence and pride,” they added.

They all agree that if Robredo is elected, she will be a capable, resolute, and competent of leading by example who will take command in crisis.

“We believe that the best candidate who embodies these aspirations is a true leader who brings with her a solid track record of serving the public; one who possesses all the qualities of an ideal Chief Executive and Commander in Chief of our Armed Forces,” they said.

Aside from Roxas and Senator Leila De Lima, the signatories of the joint statement of support also include former Foreign Affairs Secretaries Delia D. Albert and Albert F. del Rosario; former Agriculture Secretary Proceso J. Alcala; former Cabinet Secretary Jose Rene D. Almendras; former MinDa chairperson Luwalhati R. Antonino; former Labor Secretaries Rosalinda D. Baldoz and Jose S. Brillantes; former Justice Secretary Emmanuel L. Caparas; former Trade Secretaries Adrian S. Cristobal Jr and Gregory L. Domingo; former Agrarian Secretary Virgilio R. de los Reyes; former NEDA director-general Emmanuel Esguerra; former Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin; former Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda; former CHED chairperson Patricia Licuanan; former Tourism Secretary Alberto A. Lim; former Education Secretary Armin A. Luistro; former DOST Secretary Mario G. Montejo; former Environment Secretary Ramon P. Paje; DPWH Secretary Rogelio L. Singson; and former Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail dela Fuente-Valte.

Former AFP Chiefs-of-staff Emmanuel T. Bautista, Jessie D. Dellosa, Hernando A. Iriberri, and Eduardo S. Oban Jr. were also among the signatories.

Retired Ambassadors, who conveyed their support to Robredo, include Maria Rosario C. Aguinaldo, Mary Jo A. Bernardo-Aragon, Jorge V. Arizabal, Victoria S. Bataclan, Estrella A. Berenguel, Eva G. Betita, Sonia C. Brady, Blesila C. Cabrera, Maria Zeneida Angara-Collinson, Esteban B. Conejos, McArthur F. Corsino, Claro S. Cristobal, Laura Q. del Rosario, Petronila P. Garcia, Leslie B. Gatan, Danilo T. Ibayan, Eleanor L. Jaucian, Eduardo M. Maglaya, Bayani V. Mangibin, Clemencio F. Montesa, Lourdes Gutierrez-Morales, Cristina Ortega, Olivia V. Palala, Zenaida Tacorda-Rabago, Cecilia B. Rebong, Cresente R. Relacion, Virgilio Reyes Jr., Delia Menez-Rosal, Maria Rowena M. Sanchez, Aurora navarro-Tolentino, Melita Sta. Maria-Thomeczek, Alejandro Vicente, Hector K. Villaroel, Marilyn J. Alarilla, Belen F. Anota, Susan O. Castence, Uriel Norman r. Garibay, and Sahid S. Glang.

Other government officials and civil servants in the signatories are: Julia R. Abad (Presidential Management Staff), Florencio B. Abad (DBM), Joseph Emilio A. Abaya (DOTC), Orlan A. Calayag (NFA), Honorito D. Chaneco (LRTA), Teresita Quintos-Deles (OPAPP), Antonio A. Fleta (DA), Euclides G. Forbes (PCA), Cesar P. Garcia (NSA), Reynaldo P. Laguda (DepEd), Ernesto Lopez (DOTC), Maria Regina Martin (SRA), Manuel C. Medina (PRA), Roberto T. Muldong (PRA), Imelda M. Nicolas (Commission of Filipinos Overseas), Alexander A. Padilla (PhilHealth), Luz R. Palacios (DFA), Emerson U. Palad (DA), Manuel L. Quezon III (PCDSPO), Jose C. Reano (DA), Roland S. Recomono (DOTC), Susan D. Reyes (Office of the President), Reynaldo B. Robles (PRA), Joel Rocamora (NAPC), John “Sunny” P. Sevilla (BOC), Alfonso Tan Jr. (LTO), Jaime J. Yambao, Peter Anthony A. Abaya (PRA), Melchor V. Cayabyab (DOTC), and Asis G. Perez (BFAR).

Former Cabinet members and senior officials who worked during President Fidel V. Ramos’ administration have also indicated their support for Robredo’s presidential campaign.

Robredo's candidacy backed by 95 former Cabinet members, AFP officials, ambassadors|Manila Bulletin

Related articles

Stay Connected


Latest posts